The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

BELMONT

Name of City or Town

17 22 37 41 42&43

Assessors' Use only

Date Received Application No.

Parcel Id.

SENIOR -- SURVIVING SPOUSE OR MINOR -- VETERAN -- BLIND FISCAL YEAR <u>2024</u> APPLICATION FOR STATUTORY EXEMPTION General Laws Chapter 59, § 5

THIS APPLICATION IS NOT OPEN TO PUBLIC INSPECTION (See General Laws Chapter 59, § 60)

Return to: Board of Assessors

Belmont Assessors' Office 19 Moore Street Belmont, MA 02478

Must be filed with assessors on or before April 1, or 3 months after actual (**not** preliminary) tax bills are mailed for fiscal year if later.

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete all sections that apply. If you qualify under more than one category, you will receive the exemption that provides the greatest amount of assistance. Please print or type.

A. IDENTIFICATION. Complete this section fully.

Name of Applicant					
Telephone Number			Marital Status		
Legal Residence (Domicile) o	n July 1, <u>2023</u>		Mailing Address (If different)		
No. Street Location of Property:	City/Town	Zip Code	No. of Dwelling Units: $1 \ 2 \ 3 \ 4 \ 0$ Other —		
Did you own the property on July 1, _2023 Yes No If yes, were you: Sole Owner Co-owner with Spouse Only Co-owner with Others					
Was the property subject to a			No 🗌		
If yes, please attach trust in	istrument including all sch	edules.			
Have you been granted any exemption in any other city or town (MA or other state) for this year? Yes No If yes, name of city or town					
DISPOSITION OF APPLICATION (ASSESSORS' USE ONLY)					
Ownership	GRANTED	Assessed Tax	x \$		
Occupancy	DENIED	Exempted Ta	ax \$		
Status	DEEMED DENIED		x \$		
Income					
Assets			Board of Assessors		
Date Voted/Deemed Denied					
Certificate No.					
Date Cert./Notice Sent					
Exemption: Clause		Date:			

FILING THIS FORM DOES NOT STAY THE COLLECTION OF YOUR TAXES

THIS FORM APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE

B. EXEMPTION STATUS. Check each status that applies to you and complete the questions that follow.

BLIND PERSON				
Were you legally blind as of July 1, <u>2023</u> ? Yes				
Are you registered with Mass. Commission for the Blin				
If yes, give Certificate Number	Date Registered Attach copy of certificate.			
If no, attach a letter from your doctor indicating status as				
IF NO OTHER STATUS A	APPLIES TO YOU, GO ON TO SECTION E			
VETERAN'S SPOUSE	Veteran's Name			
	Was the property the veteran's domicile as of July 1,?			
	Yes No			
	If no, where does the veteran reside?			
UETERAN'S/SERVICEMEMBER'S/ NATIONAL GUARD MEMBER'S SURVIVING SPOUSE or	Deceased Veteran's/Servicemember's/National Guard member's			
SERVICEMEMBER'S SURVIVING PARENT	Name			
(or otherwise qualified if local option(s) adopted	If you are surviving spouse, have you remarried? Yes No			
pursuant to Clause 22G or 22H - See Assessors)				
Date Enlisted/Inducted				
Type of Discharge				
Military Decorations or Awards				
	in Massachusetts for at least 6 months before entering the service? <i>or member lived during the last 2 years or if deceased, the 2 years before</i>			
Address	Dates			
Continue list on attachment in same format as necessary.				
	cation, (1) attach documentation from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, urviving spouse has lived during the last 2 years (1 year if local option			
Is the servicemember or national guard member missing	ng in action and presumed dead? Yes \Box No \Box			
· ·	ber's or national guard member's death due to an active duty injury			
If yes to next question and first year of application, attach d	ocumentation from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of service.			
Has the servicemember or veteran ever been a prisone				
<i>If yes to next question and first year of application, attach C service.</i>	Certificate of Disability from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of			
Does the veteran have a 100% disability rating for serv	rice-connected blindness? Yes 🗌 No 🗌			
If yes to any of the next 3 questions and	ty from U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs or branch of service.			
Does the veteran have a service-connected disability? Yes No				
Has the veteran acquired "specially adapted housing?" Yes 🗌 No 🗌				
Is the veteran a paraplegic? Yes 📃 No 📃				
IF NO OTHER STATUS APPLIES TO YOU, GO ON TO SECTION E				

	Deceased Spouse's Name				
	Date of Death				
	Have you remarried? Yes 🗌 No 🗌 <i>If yes, date of remarriage</i>				
MINOR WITH PARENT DECEASED	Deceased Parent's Name				
	Date of Death				
If first year of application, attach a copy of death certificate.					
Are you a surviving spouse or a minor chi	Id of a firefighter or a police officer killed in the line of duty? Yes No \square				
IF NO, AND NO C	IF NO, AND NO OTHER STATUS APPLIES TO YOU, GO ON TO SECTION D				
If yes, and this is the first year of application	, provide circumstances of death.				
	GO ON TO SECTION E				
	by least entire free Accessors) D. (. (. D.)				
SENIOR 70 OR OLDER (65 of older	by local option- See Assessors) Date of Birth				
<i>If first year of application, attach copy of birth certificate.</i>					
Have you owned and occupied the property as your domicile for at least 11 years? Yes No (6 years if local option under Clause 41C ¹ / ₂ adopted - See Assessors)					
If no, list the other properties you owned and/or occupied during the past 11 years (6 years if local option under Clause $41C^{1/2}$ adopted - See Assessors.)					
Address	Dates Owned Occupied				
Continue list on attachment in same format as necessary.					
GO ON TO SECTION C					

C. GROSS RECEIPTS FROM ALL SOURCES IN PRECEDING CALENDAR YEAR. Complete this section if you are a senior. Copies of your federal and state tax income returns, and other documentation, may be requested to verify your income.

	Applicant & Spouse	Co-owner(s) & Spouse(s)
Retirement Benefits (Social Security, Railroad, Federal, MA & Political Subdivisions)		
Other Pensions and Retirement Allowances		
Wages, Salaries and other Compensation		
Net Profits from Business, Profession or Property Rental		
Interest and Dividends		
Other Receipts (Capital Gains, Public Assistance, etc.)		
TOTALS		
GO ON TO SECTION D		

D. VALUE OF ALL PROPERTY OWNED ON JULY 1 THIS YEAR. Complete this section if you are a (1) surviving spouse, (2) minor child of a deceased parent, or (3) senior. Documentation may be requested to verify your assets.

Real Estate	Assessed Valuation	Amount Due on Mortgage	Value
Domicile			
Other			
Personal Estate			
	Bank Accounts: Name & Address of Bank		
	Stocks, Bonds, Securities, etc.: Description & Amount		
	Motor Vehicles & Trailers: Year, Make & Model		
	Other Non-exempt Personal Property: Kind & Descrip	otion	
		TOTAL	
	GO ON TO SECTIO	DN E	

E. SIGNATURE. Sign here to complete the application.

This application has been prepared or examined by me. Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief, this return and all accompanying documents and statements are true, correct and complete.

Signature	Date
If signed by agent, attach copy of written authorization to sign on behalf of taxpayer.	

TAXPAYER INFORMATION ABOUT PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS. You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on your domicile if you meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under Massachusetts law. Qualifications vary, but generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability, income or assets.

You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:

- Legally blind person
- Veteran with a service-connected disability
- Surviving spouse of servicemember, national guard member or veteran who died from active duty injury or illness
- Minor child of deceased parent
- Surviving Spouse
- Senior citizen age 70 and older (65 and older by local option)

More detailed information about the qualifications for each exemption may be obtained from your board of assessors.

WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION. You may file an application if you meet all qualifications for a personal exemption as of July 1. You may also apply if you are the personal representative of the estate, or trustee under the will, of a person who qualified for a personal exemption on July 1.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the assessors on or before April 1, or 3 months after the actual bills were mailed for the fiscal year, whichever is later. An application is filed when (1) received by the assessors on or before the filing deadline, or (2) mailed by United States mail, first class postage prepaid, to the proper address of the assessors, on or before the filing deadline, as shown by a postmark made by the United States Postal Service. THIS DEADLINE CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSORS FOR ANY REASON. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT TIMELY FILED, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN EXEMPTION AND THE ASSESSORS CANNOT BY LAW GRANT YOU ONE.

PAYMENT OF TAX. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases, you must pay all preliminary and actual installments of the tax when due to appeal the assessors' disposition of your application. Failure to pay the tax when due may also subject you to interest charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights or additional charges, you should pay the tax as assessed. If an exemption is granted and you have already paid the entire year's tax as exempted, you will receive a refund of any overpayment.

ASSESSORS DISPOSITION. Upon applying for an exemption, you may be required to provide the assessors with further information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. The assessors have 3 months from the date your application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing before that period expires to extend it for a specific time. If the assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified in writing whether an exemption has been granted or denied.

APPEAL. You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if applicable, the County Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the assessors acted on your application, or the date your application was deemed denied, whichever is applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with further information about the appeal procedure and deadline.